Full Moon, Part II

Well, since it’s only June 29th, and the full moon is not until July 6th, I will probably have a few more parts to this topic.  OMG, sometimes people can be so stupid and annoying that I don’t even have the words to describe them.

Today was abnormally busy, even for a Friday.  My take is that because the 4th is midweek, many will celebrate over the weekend.   I normally work the late shift at my store, so from about 9:45PM to close at 10PM, I am the last (and only) cashier.  The next-to-last cashier left at 9:38, warning me that there was a shopper with a very full buggy.  Sigh.  Well, it is my job, and that would have been fine, if she had been the only shopper.

She gets to my line a few minutes later, and that cashier was not kidding!  Her buggy was overloaded.  I do my standard meet & greet & start scanning and bagging.  And scanning and bagging, on and on.  At one point, I look up, and there are about 8 other people in my line.  The. Only. Line.  All of them are glaring at me as if it’s MY fault that they all decided to shop at 9:50PM. Yeah, right!

I finally get to the end of her order, and she gives me a coupon.  Since the coupon won’t scan, I will need a manager’s override.  I send the bag boy (oops, now they are called service clerks, LOL) to get the manager.  The coupon was for baby food, of which the customer had purchased A LOT of.  She seems to think that the coupon should take $.25 off of EVERY baby food item purchased.  I show her the coupon, which clearly states $.25 off 1 item.  My manager confirms that, which only aggravates her more.  She pays & leaves.

My next customer is a young lady with groceries and wine.  I ask for an ID, and she shows me her state ID.  The birthday is fine, she’s legal, but I comment that the picture does not really look like her.  She shows me her driver’s license, which DOES look like her, and I proceed with the sale.  She proceeds to get snarky with me about the state ID, saying that she’s never had problems before.  I explained that it was NOT a problem, just that her driver’s license photo looks more like her than the state ID.  She continues to be snarky, and I swear, if there weren’t 12 people in line behind her, I’d take back the wine & refuse the sale.  No time for that.  She pays & leaves.

The next customer is a regular late night shopper, usually has 5 or 6 items, and is always very sweet.  I apologize for the delay, and she immediately begins commiserating with me about weird/nasty people.  I tell her that people like her are what make this job bearable, wish her a goodnight and go on to the next customer.

Meantime, the cash office manager finally got a clue, opened a line, and was checking people out, making my line shorter.  Hallelujah!

I finally get everyone cleared out but 1 guy, and as I start ringing him up, he tells me that the front end manager is taking care of some steaks for him.  She comes up and tells me to ring the steaks at a certain price.  We are not supposed to change prices, but if a manager says so, we do it.  Get him out, and the manager tells me that he was throwing a fit because we are currently having a special price on whole rib eyes, cut free.  Of course, our butchers go home at 8PM, so no one was there to cut a fricking rib eye for this guy, so he convinced the manager that she should give him the sale price on a regular package.  She was very nice to him, explaining that he could call ahead and have it cut and ready, even if he’s coming in at 10PM, and that sorry, but there was no way she could cut a whole rib eye for him.  So, he says, well, it can’t be that hard, just slicing it into steaks.  Did I mention these are bone-in?  Yep.  So, I explained to him that first of all, the whole thing has to be trimmed, fat & other things removed, then cut AND sawed.  Oh, he says.

I think people plan this, knowing that if they complain enough, they will get something.  A whole bone-in rib eye averages 12 to 15 pounds. The butchers will cut it for free, but you are paying for the whole thing.  Unless you ask, whatever is trimmed, you lose.  I can guarandamntee this guy would not pay $70 to $100 for a whole one.

My manager and I were chatting afterword, and she commented that people really should have a clue about late shopping.  It’s never a problem for us with the last minute person needing necessities like milk, diapers, etc. It’s the fools who think they can come in 10 minutes before closing and do a whole week’s worth of shopping and get pissed at us because we are short staffed!  I thanked her for sharing her thoughts, which were identical to mine – it sort of proved that I’m not as crazy as I sometimes think I am.

But really, why can’t people be more considerate?

3 responses

  1. It’s like the people who come screeching into a restaurant 3 minutes before close and happily tell you, “Wow! We just made it.” Uh, no you didn’t. You just angered the entire staff who were ready to go home, but now have to stay an extra hour to take care of your miserable ass.

Leave a Reply

